News

IHS Clinical Rounds: Choosing the right genetic test. This isn’t rocket science.

Please save the date and register today for the:

IHS Clinical Rounds: Choosing the right genetic test. This isn’t rocket science.

This one hour webinar will be presented by:

Dr. Daryl Scott

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern

1:00 pm –2:00 pm Central

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Mountain

11:00 am – 12:00 pm Pacific

You can register for this event here.

Webinar Description:

A wide variety of genetic tests are now clinically available. Although these tests have greatly enhanced our ability to provide personalized medical care, trying to determine which test to order can be anxiety provoking. In this webinar, Dr. Scott—a clinical geneticist at Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children’s Hospital—will provide a simple framework that practitioners can use to lower stress levels and consistently choose the right genetic test(s) for each of their patients.

Outcomes/Objectives

At the end of this presentation, participants will be able to: 1. Choose which genetic test(s) to order when a specific diagnosis cannot be made clinically 2. Utilize specific internet sites to aid in diagnosis 3. Determine when to refer a patient to a clinical geneticist.

Daryl A. Scott, MD/PhD: Dr. Scott is an Associate Professor with tenure at Baylor College of Medicine and is board certified in both Pediatrics and Clinical Genetics. As a clinical geneticist, he cares for children with a variety of genetic disorders and collaborates with physicians and scientist from around the world to identify novel disease genes. He is also actively engaged in the training of medical students, residents, fellows and graduate students.